PPNA Happenings

Happenings, history and news of the Prospect Park Neighborhood and Ypsilanti

Lunch At Biggies

Posted by ppna on May 8, 2008

While at the Crossroads Festival I noticed the location of ‘Biggie’s Fine Foods’ at 16 North Washington across from Club Devine. They weren’t open on Sunday but I kept them in mind and today I walked to Biggie’s to give them a try.

Biggie’s has a good mix of food. They have a complete line of Soul-Food along with ‘fast food’ staples like Hamburgers, Chili Dogs, and a variety of hot sandwiches. Today I was there to try their $1.00 hamburgers. The hamburgers were a lot like McDonalds burgers but it was much nicer eating a burger cooked in a friendly local environment.  Biggie’s has full sized burgers that I’d like to try too including the 1/2 pound Biggie Burger which I’m sure are different than McDonalds.  I certainly recommend picking up a burger or two before heading to one of the Downtown establishments for a cocktail.

I haven’t tried anything from the Soul-Food portion of the menu but I can’t wait to. When I visited there was a large group of folks eating buffet style and from the number of people that asked for to-go boxes I have the impression that the food was good.

My official review of Biggies for a quick pre/post bar meal is:  4.5 Watertowers

  • Food Good and fairly priced
  • Staff Incredibly Friendly
  • Atmosphere is what I like to see – Not too much money spent but clean

Hours are M-Th 11am – 9:30pm   Fri/Sat  11am – 10:30pm   Closed Sunday except Soulful Sunday

Call ahead for carry out orders 734-484-3434

I will review Biggies on their soulfood menu next time I go.

    One Response to “Lunch At Biggies”

    1. Sarah said

      We can’t eat there often because we are already fat enough as it is, but their cheesesteak is delicious beyond delicious.

    Leave a Reply

         
