PPNA Happenings

Happenings, history and news of the Prospect Park Neighborhood and Ypsilanti

Where do the Mythbusters Turn?

Posted by ppna on April 20, 2008

Mythbusters is a TV show that tries to prove well known myths and when they were unable to find a spare 747 in California to prove a myth they came to the place where anything is possible. If you are thinking that place is Ypsilanti you are correct. Honestly, I’m just assuming the episode was filmed at  the Willow Run Airport but I pretty sure I’m right. They needed to borrow a jet to see if the thrust would really blow away a car, literally, that was driving behind it as it throttled up. Kalitta which flys out of Willow Run allowed the use of one of their planes.

I saw the episode tonight “Supersized Myths” but I think the original air date was last fall.

If you want to see what happens watch the link below.  Mythbusters is filmed in English but this overdubbed version is all I found on YouTube

2 Responses to “Where do the Mythbusters Turn?”

  1. I was flipping through the channels last night, and I caught the Mythbusters accidentally blowing up a car with a rocket strapped to it (the idea was to make it fly), but I missed this one.

    I’m not sure which is more entertaining, seeing the 747 do its thing, or seeing Mythbusters in a different language!

    I love that show 🙂

  2. […] few weeks ago I posted an article about the TV show Mythbusters and their use of a Kalitta Air 747 to show how cars get blown away if […]

Leave a Reply

 
